Cloone GAA Banner image
Home About Us Ladies Club Tables & Results News & Lotto Interactive History Photo Gallery
Latest News
Lotto Results
Play Our Lotto

Latest Cloone GAA News

Lohan goal finally decides Final!


Masonite Intermediate League Division Two Final:

Cloone 1-7 Drumkeerin 0-7

Cloone started their double weekend off on a great note last Saturday when a goal from sub James Lohan finally decided a close Masonite Intermediate League Division Two Final in a wet Fenagh against Drumkeerin.

The North Leitrim men have had the misfortune to lose two Finals this year. It has also led to the strange situation of the two winners in the Intermediate competitions, St. Mary’s & Cloone, staying in Division Two next year while Drumkeerin will contest the Senior ranks next year!

Cloone fully deserved

their victory and it was only their inability to close off the game that kept this game close. They played the better football for long periods and adapted well to the conditions on Saturday.

In Adrian Nicholls and Paul McNamara, they had two dangerous forwards who were able to exploit their pace on the treacherous ground while Seamus Tiernan in the corner, Niall Brennan and Mark Beirne gave them a solid grounding in defence.

Drumkeerin tried hard and made a hard fight of it. But they could never produce the sort of flair needed to open a tight Cloone defence.

Paul McNamara opened the scoring when he fin

ished off a great four man move with a first minute point. Six minutes later, Mickey Quinn pointed after McNamara’s persistence set him up for a point.

Two minutes later, Nicholls should have goaled when a Jarleth Lennon ball found him clear behind the Drumkeerin defence. But Tomas Cassidy made an excellent save to deny him a goal.

Drumkeerin were finding it hard to score with Michael Foley, John Cullen & Ciaran White all missing chances before Eamon O’Grady raised a white flag after seventeen minutes. Donal Brennan was also booked for dissent.

Seamus “Snow” Tiernan & Nicholls combined down

the wing for McNamara to score his second point after nineteen minutes. Mickey Quinn was booked while Junior Hazlette fired badly wide.

Cloone also needed Barry Mitchell in good form as he denied O’Grady a goal just before halftime after John Cullen had put him clear.

That left Cloone with a 0-3 to 0-1 advantage at the break but Drumkeerin were soon back in the game. Despite a booking, John Cullen pointed a free after three minutes and two minutes later, Richard McTiernan scored a great long range point to level the scores.

Cullen put a chance to go in front wide while McNamara saw a shot go just wide.

Cloone began to control the game and Doherty added a second free four minutes later. Subs James Lohan and Mark Solan came on while McNamara converted a free after a foul on himself after fifteen minutes.

The crucial score came with thirteen minutes to go when a Dermot Tiernan shot dropped short. Keeper Cassidy caught it, turned one way, then another and foolishly, under pressure on his own line, handpassed the ball which was intercepted by James Lohan just two yards out and he did not miss.

Ironically, that provoked Drumkeerin into another burst and McTiernan converted a free after nineteen minutes. Kevin Doherty was booked two minutes later and Cullen converted the free to narrow the gap.

Snow Tiernan was booked and Cullen hit another free to leave a goal

in it but sub Mark Solan raised Cloone’s spirits with a great point from the corner with less than four minutes to go.

Mickey Lohan was then booked before Michael Foley hit the free over the bar. With only a goal in it, Drumkeerin tried to get back into the game but Cloone closed them down with only a booking for Junior Hazlette remaining.

Best for Cloone were Barry Mitchell, Seamus Tiernan, Niall Brennan, Mark Beirne, Alan Canning, Kevin Doherty, Paul McNamara and Adrian Nicholls while Des White, Sean Munnelly, Noel Flynn, Francis Davitt, Damien McPadden and John Cullen were best for Drumkeerin.


Barry Mitchell, Seamus Tiernan, Niall Brennan, Dermot Tiernan, Seamus Tiernan, Mark Beirne, Seamus Maguire, Alan Canning, Mickey Quinn (0-1), Paul McNamara (0-3), Kevin Doherty (0-2), Donal Brennan, Jarleth Lennon, Mickey Lohan, Adrian Nicholls. Subs: James Lohan (1-0) for Lennon & Mark Solan (0-1) for Canning (43 mins).


Thomas Cassidy, Michael Forde, Des White, Alan Foley, Sean Munnelly, Damien McPadden, Noel Flynn, Francis Davitt, Ciaran White, Tony Cullen,

Richard McTiernan (0-2), Eamon O’Grady (0-1), Michael Foley (0-1), Junior Hazlette, John Cullen (0-3).

Ref: Seamus Heron.