Cloone GAA Banner image
Home About Us Ladies Club Tables & Results News & Lotto Interactive History Photo Gallery
Latest News
Lotto Results
Play Our Lotto

Latest Cloone GAA News

Club AGM 2018


The Club held a very successful Annual General Meeting in the club house on Saturday evening last and a large crowd attended. Outgoing chairman Mickey Lohan gave a detailed chairperson’s address in which he highlighted the positive features from 2017. He complimented the work of the intermediate team under the excellent guidance of team manager Niall Murray. He thanked all the people who gave of their time in a voluntarily capacity to attend to all the various duties that is needed to run the Gaa club. Mickey did not seek re -election, and the club would like to thank Mickey for six outstanding years’ service to Cloone Gaa in which he spearheaded many outstanding initiatives. Mickey is replaced by new chairman Liam Reynolds.

Outgoing secretary Martin McCaffrey also gave a very detailed report of the year’s activity in which he outlined the positive attitude among the players which resulted in a very enjoyable year. He thanked all the people who helped with the running of the club through the year without whose help the club could not run.

The financial report by outgoing treasure John Reynolds showed the club is in a reasonable financial state but renewed efforts with fundraising will have to be high on the agenda during 2018. John did not seek re- election and the club would like to thank John for all his efforts with fundraising and managing the clubs finance throughout the last number of years. John is replaced as treasurer by Gerry Keegan. 

The following is the officers for 2018, 

  • Chairman, Liam Reynolds 
  • Vice Chairman Seamus Maguire, 
  • Secretary Martin McCaffrey, 
  • Assistant Secretary, Alan Canning, 
  • Treasurer Gerry Keegan, 
  • PRO Gerry McGovern, 
  • ASAP Officer Seamus Maguire, 
  • Irish Officer Damian ó Braonáin, 
  • Registrar Seamus Maguire, 
  • Insurance Officer Adrian Nichols, 
  • Development officer Sean McGovern  
  • Coaching Officer Niall Brennan, 
  • Children’s officer Maria McCrann, 
  • I.T. Officer Enda Tiernan, 
  • Co Board delegates Sean McGovern, Liam Reynolds, Alan Canning, Niall Brennan. 
  • Under age representative Kieran Casey. 
At the close of the meeting lifelong supporter Kevin Foley gave a rousing speech in he informed the gathering that it is sixty years since he attended his first Club meeting, and that this year marks sixty years this since the club had been reformed at a meeting in Dillon’s Egg Store in 1958, having out of action for a few years.